Link Partners Index

South Waikato Lifelong Learning Group > Links Directory


Start Careers Central - Local links for students, employers, tertiary, and Gateway 
Successful people from the South Waikato 
Successful companies in the South Waikato 
South Waikato Education and Training links
Lifelong Learning - Links to Lifelong Learning related sites around the globe
Learning Cities - Find out more about why the Learning Cities movement is so important
Learning Organisations - How to improve company profits and employee job satisfaction
NZ ACE - Adult and Community Education throughout New Zealand.
Claroline eLearning - Organisations using the Open Source Claroline system
Learning Theory-Research - Up to date information about how we learn



Tokoroa - The second largest town in the Waikato region of the North Island of New Zealand. It is the largest settlement in the South Waikato district and is located 30 kilometres southwest of Rotorua close to the foot of the Mamaku Ranges. Its population in 2001 was 14,175. Tokoroa is located mid-way between Taupo and Hamilton on State Highway One. The other two main settlements in the South Waikato District are Putaruru and Tirau.

Putaruru - A small town in the Waikato region of New Zealand's North Island. It is located on the Oraka River 65 kilometres southeast of Hamilton. The town's population at the 2001 census was 3714. Its economy is based on farming, forestry and timber production.

Tirau - Tirau is a small town of approximately 800 people in the Waikato region of the North Island of New Zealand, 50 kilometres southeast of Hamilton. Tirau is primarily a farming town but in recent years has begun to exploit the income that comes from being on a major road. Tirau is Maori for "place of many cabbage trees."

Arapuni - One of several artificial lakes formed as part of a hydroelectricity scheme on the Waikato River in the North Island of New Zealand. Arapuni Village is located 65 kilometres southeast of Hamilton, to the north of Mangakino. The dam, at the small settlement of Arapuni at the lake's northern end, was the first constructed on the Waikato, and was completed in 1929. The lake covers 9 km2.

Okoroire - A small settlement just a few minutes drive from Tirau, New Zealand. Attractions include hot springs surrounded by bush. Private pools can be hired from the Okoroire Hotel. The pools are said to cure all types of aches and pains and have long been used for their health benefits. The Okoroire Hotel was built in the 1880s from native timber. It has been owned by the same family for three generations. An excellent 9-hole golf course is also available.

Mangakino - A small town on the banks of the Waikato River in the North Island of New Zealand. It is located close to the hydroelectric power station at Lake Maraetai, 85 kilometres southeast of Hamilton. Its population in 2001 was 1257.

Whakamaru - Set up as accommodation for the Whakamaru Hydro Power Station. As well as being a significant contributor of electricity, the Whakamaru complex is the main switching station for the upper Waikato hydro power stations and manages the transmission system for Auckland. Whakamaru is a relaxing holiday location with safe water for children. It is a great way to escape the pressure of living in big cities. The extensive Whakamaru Camping Ground is set in mature pines and provides a wonderful sense of solitude. During the summer months Lake Whakamaru is used extensively for water skiing. 

Atiamuri - Atiamuri is a hydroelectric power station on the Waikato River, central North Island, New Zealand, midway between Taupo, Rotorua and Hamilton. Atiamuri township is an ex Hydro village thats sits alongside State Highway One about 85k north of Taupo. It is bordered by the Waikato River and surrounded by pine plantations. Upper Atimauri just north of the Waikato River, is a small community of lifestyle blocks and farm servicing businesses.

South Waikato District - A municipality located between the cities of Hamilton and Rotorua in the North Island of New Zealand. It is within the Waikato region. The district covers the towns of Tokoroa, Putaruru, and Tirau. The seat of the South Waikato District Council is at Tokoroa. As at the 2001 census, the distict's population was 23,469, of whom 65% lived in Tokoroa. Putaruru's population was 3714, and Tirau's was 705. The region's population decreased markedly during the 1990s, dropping over 3000 since the 1991 census. The district's main industries are related to forestry and timber production. Several hydroelectric projects are located at the district's western edge.

South Waikato Lifelong Learning Group

South Waikato Lifelong Learning group

Back to Top

Contact Us | Privacy Statement | SiteMap

Home Page | Subjects | Qualifications | ACE Venues | ACE Network | Lifelong Learning | Skills Gap | Members



Website support via MegaCam